Advising and Recruiting Webpage

Purdue College of Education LogoOffice of Advising and Recruiting Logo

Want to CODO?

Informational Meetings

Any current Purdue student wanting information about the College of Education's three majors (elementary education, social studies education, and special education) or interested in changing his/her degree objective (CODOing), must sign up to attend one of the informational meetings listed below. Sign up sheets are in the Office of Advising & Recruiting in Beering Hall of Liberal Arts and Education, room 3216.

The CODO Information Meeting you attend is considered your first appointment with an academic advisor. After this initial meeting, you will be able to make individual appointments with an advisor and attend walk-in hours. Please bring an academic transcript to the meeting.

Informational meetings are held periodically throughout the fall and spring semesters. If you are not able to attend one of the meetings listed below for this semester, you may make an individual appointment with an academic advisor after April 30, 2015, or attend a meeting during the next semester. Individual meetings are also scheduled on dates when classes are not in session. Next semester meeting dates will be posted at a later date.

Spring 2015: Elementary Education

2015 DAY TIME
January 13 Tuesday 8:30 AM
January 23 Friday 1:30 PM
January 28 Wednesday 2:30 PM
February 3 Tuesday 10:30 AM
February 12 Thursday 3:30 PM
February 16 Monday 9:30 AM
February 26 Thursday 8:30 AM
March 3 Tuesday 1:30 PM
March 9 Monday 2:30 PM
March 25 Wednesday 3:30 PM
April 3 Friday 9:30 AM
April 15 Wednesday 1:30 PM
April 24 Friday 2:30 PM
April 30 Thursday 3:30 PM

Spring 2015: Social Studies Education

2015 DAY TIME
January 15 Thursday 8:30 AM
January 22 Thursday 10:30 AM
January 26 Monday 8:30 AM
February 6 Friday 9:30 AM
February 10 Tuesday 1:30 PM
February 27 Friday 10:30 AM
March 4 Wednesday 2:30 PM
March 10 Tuesday 2:30 PM
March 25 Wednesday 1:30 PM
April 7 Tuesday 8:30 AM
April 20 Monday 3:30 PM
April 29 Wednesday 3:30 PM

Spring 2015: Special Education

2015 DAY TIME
January 14 Wednesday 1:30 PM
January 27 Tuesday 2:30 PM
February 13 Friday 10:30 AM
February 17 Tuesday 8:30 AM
February 23 Monday 9:30 AM
March 5 Thursday 3:30 PM
March 13 Friday 1:30 PM
March 25 Wednesday 2:30 PM
April 9 Thursday 10:30 AM
April 22 Wednesday 3:30 PM
April 27 Monday 1:30 PM

Spring 2015: General Education

By Appointment

 

Change of Curricula:
CODO-IN Requirements

Major Program:

Elementary Education
General Education
Learning Sciences
Special Education

Minimum Semesters: 1
Minimum Hours: 12
Minimum GPA: 2.80
Major Program: Social Studies Education
Minimum Semesters: 1
Minimum Hours: 12
Minimum GPA: 3.00
Course Requirements:

Have completed or be currently enrolled in ENGLISH composition requirement with a grade of "C-" or higher.

Have completed 2 years of high school foreign language or 1 year of college foreign language.

Have completed, or be currently enrolled in, at least 12 credit hours at Purdue, of which 6 credit hours must be Education courses: EDCI, EDPS or EDST.

General Requirements:(All Education Majors)

Have attended a College of Education Informational Meeting within the last 12 months.

Have a "B" average with no grade lower than a "C-" in education couses.                                                                                       

Have submitted an Application to CODO, 500 Word Essay, and Resume to the Office of Advising and Recruiting by the 10th week of the current semester.

Testing Requirements:(Elementary, Social Studies, Special Education Majors)

CASA scores submitted by the Educational Testing Service to the Office of Professional Preparation and Licensure (minimum score requirements: READING - 220, WRITING - 220, MATHEMATICS - 220).

Contact Information:

Office of Advising & Recruiting
BRNG 3216
49-47962
College of Education

Note: Students meeting all CODO requirements after the 10th week of the current semester or by the start of the first week of the next Fall, Spring or Summer Term may contact the Office of Advising & Recruiting to see if program space is available. If space is available, CODO papers will be processed for the current term.