Ten College of Education undergraduates receive IACTE Outstanding Future Educators Award

Ten undergraduate students in Purdue University’s College of Education  have recently been named recipients of the Indiana Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (IACTE)  Outstanding Future Educators Award.

These outstanding future educators excelled during their clinical practice and exhibit professional promise. Supervisors and cooperating teachers were asked to nominate teacher candidates who went above and beyond the expectations set before them in student teaching.

Congratulations to these ten students, who have accepted their IACTE Award:

  • Laura Benne– Special Education
  • Katelyn Brothers– Special Education
  • Michaela Cook – Elementary Education
  • Dana Johnson– Art Education
  • Grace Klopfenstein – Agricultural Education
  • Erin Maneke – Mathematics Education
  • Cassandra Marquez– English Education
  • Elizabeth Miller – Elementary/Special Education Dual
  • Irene Pappas – Elementary Education
  • Joshua Wolf– Online Masters Special Education Program

IACTE is a state organization of the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (AACTE). IACTE advocates for public policy by working closely with the Indiana Professional Standards Board and the Indiana Department of Education. Due to their hard work, IACTE has served as a major player in shaping policy within the state. In addition to this, they also offer professional initiatives by working to expand the knowledge base about teaching and teacher education through meetings and technology. Lastly, IACTE offers peer support by encouraging and supporting members in accomplishing the agenda of the educational community.

Learn more about Purdue University College of Education: https://www.education.purdue.edu/

Source: Gabbrielle Waldron, gwaldon@purdue.edu

Writer: Kathryn Cockerill, kcockeri@purdue.edu