Close Menu

COE-distributive-modelThe College of Education is the hub of teacher education at Purdue. Seventeen undergraduate majors are part of a collaborative teacher education program organized across six colleges with shared curriculum goals and jointly-appointed faculty.

Teacher Education Council (TEC)

Teacher Education programs are offered through six colleges across the Purdue University Campus which are coordinated by the dean, faculty and staff of the College of Education. Distributed across six colleges, decisions about the undergraduate and graduate instruction are made by a broadly representative Teacher Education Council (TEC).

Program Convener Council (PCC)

The TEC is advised by the Program Convener Council, which includes program representatives of all teacher licensure programs.

Accreditation, Standards, and Program Recognition

Purdue University College of Education is accredited by the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) through 2019 and is now affiliated with the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP), the new accrediting body for educator preparation.

If you would like to contact CAEP you may visit www.caepnet.org, by phone at (202) 223-0077 or mail correspondence to:
1140 19th St NW, Suite 400 Washington, DC 20036.

Teacher Education programs are recognized by Specialized Professional Associations (SPA) affiliated with CAEP. All programs are state-approved in Indiana.

The College of Education works closely with the Indiana Department of Education to assure compliance with state requirements for educator professional licensure.